New IndieGoGo Campaign – The Boot-Strap Expat Round 2

2014/02/23

Some Things Ya Just Gotta Learn The Hard Way –

A Mighty Oak Begins Like This

A Mighty Oak Begins Like This

I was both excited and nervous setting up the first Funding Campaign for the Boot-Strap Expat Adventure.

Excited that we might be able to move forward sooner rather than later.

Nervous because I had no idea how to properly market the campaign.

I’m learning the Hard Way.

_________________________

Organic is generally my preference.
No spammy appeals to anyone.
No irrelevant comments on other sites to promote the Funding campaign.

In fact I almost forgot to mention either the IndieGoGo campaign OR the Boot-Strap Expat page when I was interviewed by Out Of The Box on AboveTopSecret.com!  The Producer of the show had to remind me to plug The Boot-Strap Expat Adventure just as we were wrapping up the interview.

How Well Does Organic Work? First the Good News

Average daily readership on The Boot-Strap Expat site is up over twenty-five-fold from all over the globe! Most of these readers discovered our site since the first of the year, less than 24 hours after launching the initial IndieGoGo Campaign.

We did actually receive some donations as noted in the article Thank You Anonymous For Priming The Pump! These early donations will be rolled into this and future campaigns until we have the funding to actually hit the road.

What Didn’t Work So Well?

The Boot-Strap Expat, the guy behind this adventure!

Being new to WordPress.com, it has taken me a fair bit of time to figure how to get the site looking as good as it does, and I’m still learning about functions and widgets and tools.

Shoot, I couldn’t even figure out how to get the donations we did receive into my PayPal account until last night. Doh!

I still haven’t figured out how to add a “Donate” button to the site or articles, hence all the links.

One improvement of Note

I did add an “IndieGoGo Support Page,” you’ll find it right next to the “About” button at the top of the Boot-Strap Expat site.

Other Funding Sources

Not Very Subtle

Not Very Subtle But Necessary

I’m also interviewing for another suit and tie gig so that if necessary I can underwrite the entire Boot-Strap Expat Adventure myself.

It may take a while longer, and it may slow down my writing, but I’m like a dog with a bone, just like Max and New Moon.

If you have any suggestions regarding funding or sponsorship please let me know.

And feel free to toss some chump-change in the tin cup below.

New IndieGoGo Campaign:  http://igg.me/p/692232/x/5929170

The Boot-Strap Expat adventure, a rustic camping road-trip from the Great Lakes region of North America to Expatriate communities in South America. This adventure will be include regular posting of video and articles capturing the trials and tribulations of a 13,200 mile road-trip from the Great Lakes to Chile. Afterwards, a documentary video and book will be created and published.

 IndieGoGo CAmpaign – http://igg.me/p/692232/x/5929170

The Boot-Strap Expat on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/BootStrapExpat

Please Follow and Share the Boot-Strap Expat, there’s a follow button to the right and share buttons below.
Want to advertise on The Boot-Strap Expat? You can contact me directly at alex.z@consultant.com

Please consider being a Sponsor for this adventure. If you have suggestions for Sponsors, please feel free to share them and their contact information directly.

To support my efforts directly, donations through PayPal can be made to: alex.z@consultant.com

Leave a comment